队列分析实例:

已经使用的促销非常成功,并且开发者敏锐而详细的理解了促销如何影响玩家行为。当玩家花钱时促销是否会改变,玩家如何与游戏互动?

这类分析对理解促销对玩家群的影响和特别的促销可以如何改变行为和鼓励消费以及滞留是至关重要的。

要做这种分析,就要查看两个队列的玩家。第一个队列将是提供促销的新玩家,第二个队列将是不提供促销的新玩家。这样可以分析促销对玩家行为的影响。

由于没有对促销设置的A/B测试,解决方案是使用两个日期范围来模拟A/B测试。

使用队列比较工具使得分析类型直观方便。

队列1(Cohort 1)

第一队列是促销队列,将在促销的这一天查看加入游戏的新玩家并分析其在1月5日和19日之间的行为。这是2610个玩家中有105个付费玩家(4.02%付费)。

  • 选择日期范围:2013-01-05 -> 2013-01-19
  • 选择用户开始日期:2013-01-05

队列2(Cohort 2)

第二队列是无促销队列,将在1月15日促销后查看加入游戏的新玩家并分析其在1月15日到29日之间行为。这是1707个玩家中有45个付费玩家(2.63%付费)。

  • 选择日期范围:2013-01-15 -> 2013-01-29
  • 选择用户开始日期:2013-01-15

在第一列选择每日、每周和每月活跃用户,在第二列选择总收入与首次付款时间

19

屏幕显示看起来应该是这样:

20

21

在队列1活跃用户图显示6日有2610个用户。到20日仍然有232个玩家还在付费(14天滞留率8.8%)。

在队列2活跃用户图显示15日有1707个用户。到29日仍然有140个玩家还在付费(14天滞留率8.2%)。

第一次付费的时间展示了玩家有多快将开始花钱。促销是否鼓励玩家更早的开始花钱?

由于促销,玩家被强烈吸引更早的付费。在队列1中90%的玩家在第一个小时内付费,对比队列2中多数玩家在其游戏运行的更晚时候付费。

屏幕显示看起来应该是这样:

25

26

查看收入,队列1在14天内产生了4660美元,且多数收入都是在最初的6天内。队列2只产生了2434美元,且在这两周内收入更加均匀分布。

如果我们看到付费玩家消费额的下降,我们可以开始为每一队列的付费玩家提供更好的感受。队列1包括低价值玩家,23%的收入来自这些花费21~50美元的玩家。相比之下,队列2有许多的高价值用户群,44%的玩家花费100~500美元。

最后,查看收入与玩家当前价值1、7、14、30天的滞留

22

23

24

纵观在这个日期范围内一条时间线上的收入与玩家当前价值,我们看到了一个不同的画面。队列1较早产生许多高价值收入,但其一直下降直到这一时期结束,这很可能是这些玩家已经离开游戏。队列2显示了一个不同的画面,在这一时期内高价值玩家的数量在不断增长,虽然总体比队列1的水平低。

最后查看这两组的滞留情况,队列1比起队列2显示了更差的滞留率。

非常明显当一个促销被使用时,对新玩家产生了不同的玩家行为。这不是简单的鼓励现有用户花钱,而且还在改变新玩家的行为。新玩家在游戏体验中更早的花钱,且这个花费持续在玩家玩游戏的全过程。玩家在促销中花费较少的钱,在促销队列中产生了较少的收入。促销因此产生了最初的峰值,但其也伤害了长期的高价值玩家。

关于滞留,对新玩家的促销产生了消极的影响,队列1的滞留率在1和7天滞留中显示了更坏的滞留率,虽然长期滞留非常相似。

促销的突出价值是鼓励新玩家开始花费和增加收入。这看起来对滞留和全生命周期的价值产生了冲击,需要基于更多细节的进一步分析来查看这种冲击。

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Cohort Analysis Example:

The promotion that was run was a success and the developer was keen to understand in detail how the promotion impacted player behaviour. Was the promotion changing when players spent money and how players interacted with the game.

This type of analysis is vital to understand the impact of promotions on the playing base and how specific promotions can change behaviour and encourage monetisation and retention.

To undertake this analysis it was decided to look at two cohorts of players. The first cohort would be new players that were exposed to the promotion and the second would be a cohort of new players that didn’t get exposed to the promotion. This would allow analysis of the impact of the promotion on the playing behaviour.

As there was no A/B testing set up on the promotion, the solution was to use two date ranges to simulate the A/B test.

Using the Cohort Comparison tool makes this type of analysis easy and intuitive.

Cohort 1

The first Cohort is the promotion Cohort and will look at new players who joined the game on the day of the promotion and analyse their behaviour between the 5th of January and the 19th of January. This is 2,610 players with 105 paying players (4.02% paying)

  • Select date range 2013-01-05 -> 2013-01-19
  • Select user start date 2013-01-05

Cohort 2

The second Cohort is the non promotion Cohort and will look at new players who joined the game after the promotion on the 15th of January and analyse their behaviour between the 15th of January and the 29th of January. This is 1,707 players with 45 paying players (2.63% paying)

  • Select date range 2013-01-15 -> 2013-01-29
  • Select user start date 2013-01-15

In column 1 select Daily, Weekly and Monthly Active Users and in column 2 select Total Revenue by Time to First Payment.

19

The screen should look like this:

20

21

In Cohort 1 the active user chart shows the 2,610 users on the 6th. By the 20th there are 232 players still playing (8.8% 14 day retention).

In Cohort 2 the active user chart shows the 1,707 users on the 15th. By the 29th there are 140 players still playing (8.2% 14 day retention).

Time to First Payment shows how quickly players will start to spend money. Does the promotion encourage players to spend money earlier?

Because of the promotion, users are highly motivated to spend early. 90% of the players in Cohort 1 are spending within the first hour, compared to Cohort 2 where the majority are spending later in their gameplay.

The screen should look like this:

25

26

Looking at the revenue, Cohort 1 generated $4,660 over the 14 days with the majority of that revenue in the first 6 days. Cohort 2 generated only $2,434 with a more even distribution of revenue across the two weeks.

If we look at the break down of spending players by their value we can start to get a better feeling for who is spending the money in each Cohort. Cohort 1 consists of low value players with 23% of the revenue generated by players spending $21-$50. This is in marked contrast to Cohort 2 which has a much higher value user base, with 44% of the players spending $101-$500.

Finally look at Revenue by Player Current Value and One, Seven, Fourteen & Thirty Day Retention.

22

23

24

Looking at the revenue by player current value on a time line over the date range we see a different picture. Cohort 1 has a lot of high value whales early, but they drop out towards the end of the period and the likelihood is those players have left the game. Cohort 2 shows a different  picture with high value players increasing over the time period, although at an overall lower level than Cohort A.

Finally taking a look at the retention of both groups, Cohort 1 overall shows a worse retention rate compared to Cohort 2.

There is clearly a difference in playing behaviour for new players when a promotion is used. This is not simply encouraging the existing user base to spend money, but it is also about changing the behaviour of new players. New players are spending much earlier in the gameplay experience and that spending is continuing over the lifespan of the players. The players in the promotion are spending smaller amounts, with the promotion cohort generating less whales. The promotion has therefore generated an initial spike but this has been at the detriment of long time high value players.

On retention there appear to be a negative impact of the promotion on new players, retention rate, with cohort A showing showing worse retention rates for 1 and 7 day retention although the long term retention appears very similar.

This underlines the value of promotions to encourage new players to start spending and increase monetisation. There does seem to be an impact on retention and life time value and further analysis would need to be done to look at this impact in more detail.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.