引言

创建命中目标的第一步是嵌入(Instrument)你的游戏,以支持你想要提供的不同交互。这听起来好像是南辕北辙,但是一旦你拥有了命中目标可以交互的环境,其将更简单的创建和测试各种不同的目标以及创建策略。

要做到这一点,你需要在你的游戏明确两件事情,你想要在哪里和用户交互(决策点),以及你想在这些点做什么(干预)。

 

决策点

你需要明确你将要使用命中目标和玩家交互的每一个点。这些点通常是玩家正在休息的点,例如主菜单、任务选择、任务开始和结束以及游戏中所有物品放置的商店,在这些地方你想要抓住玩家,并为他们提供一些事物或者用有价值的方式改变游戏。

你不想要做的事情是在游戏中途或者玩家要做重要决策的点与玩家交互,特别是其需要在有限时间内做决策的时候。

在游戏中的这些点被叫做决策点,并且理想状态下应该有3~4个这样的点。任何决策点都可以附着多个目标,你可以为多个交互重复使用一个决策点。一个决策点还不需要被连接到一个事件,有些时候这将与任务开始点(missionStarted point)类似,但通常不会。

 

干预

干预定义了玩家将要发生什么和应当包括的你将用来定制交互的变量。干预可以是停止玩家并在其可以进一步操作前强制其完成一个交互的模态消息。其可以是被动出现的消息,但不要求玩家交互,且其可以被通过在玩家没有意识到交互的情况下改变游戏的一部分来改变。

模态消息
这些通常是在游戏中出现的弹出会话,并且让玩家选择一些事情,或者通知玩家某件事情已经发生。一个弹出的例子是一个销售会话为玩家提供特殊的优惠,例如如果现在购买金币可以有50%的折扣。这些会话要求玩家在这个优惠提供给玩家的点做出一个决策。

被动消息
这些是出现但不要求用户交互的消息,其通常出现在一个计时器或者玩家移到一个不同页面时简单的消失。其更接近于在游戏中对优惠进行提醒。

改变
这是信息被送回到游戏的地方,其影响游戏如何在玩家未被通知改变的情况下响应玩家。其可以是一个困难度或者使游戏更加有价值的游戏参数的改变。其还可以是商店价格的改变从而基于其行为划分玩家对一些特殊物品获得稍微不同的价格。

 

方法网格

最好的方法是创建一个网格详细标记每种干预的细节和其应当被执行的位置。

例如:

在这个例子中我们确定了一个游戏中玩家可以交互的五个点。我们有七种不同类型的干预,每个都被设计的尽可能灵活。

决策点 模态消息 被动消息 改变
欢迎页面 奖励
金币特殊优惠
帮助提示
今日特价 教程选择
任务选择 奖励
金币特殊优惠
帮助提示
今日特价
任务开始 帮助提示 任务困难度
任务结束 奖励
金币特殊优惠
帮助提示
商店 帮助提示 今日特价 价格改变

 

奖励
奖励会话将提供一个简单的文本价格和提供玩家某个数量的奖励或者额外货币。货币的文本、类型和数量将被命中目标系统来驱动。

特价金币
这提供玩家以某个级别的折扣购买额外货币(这个例子中的金币)的能力。这个会话将接收一条文本和以%形式的折扣水平。这时其显示这个优惠给玩家。

帮助提示
这是一个简单的会话展示一条帮助文本。

今日特价
这是一个被动引起注意的消息展示在屏幕的底部,并详细显示一个商店中的特别优惠。其将要求一条文本详细介绍这个优惠并于玩家在这个页面时一直显示。

教程选择
这是一个定义哪个教程提供给玩家的参数。其允许某些用户被提供完整的教程,某些可以跳过后面的教程,哪些玩家根本不需要收到教程。

任务难度
这改变一个特殊任务的难度,其接受一个从-100到100的数值,且0是当前的难度。

价格变化
这改变一个单一项目的价格,并需要一个项目的ID和新的价格。

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Introduction

The first step in building targeting is to instrument your game to support the different interactions that you want to deliver. This might sounds like the wrong way round, but once you have the environment which targeting can interact in, it is much easier to build and test the various targets and create the strategy.

To do this you need to identify two things in your game, where you want to interact with users (Decision Points) and what you do at these points (Interventions).

 

Decision Points

You need to identify each of the points where you will interact with the user through targeting. These are generally points where the player is at rest, so the main menu, mission select, start and end of missions and the store are all good places in a game where you would want to catch the player and either make them an offer or change the game in a meaningful way.

What you don’t want to do is to interact with players in the middle of gameplay or at a point where the player has to make important decisions, especially if there is a time element to the decision they have to make.

These points in the game are called decision points and ideally there should be 3-4 of these points. As multiple targets can be attached to any decision point, you can reuse a decision point for multiple interactions. Also a decision point does not need to be connected to an event, sometimes these will coincide such as a missionStarted point, but often they will not.

 

Interventions

The Interventions defines what will happen to the player and should include the variables that you will use to customise the interaction. Interventions can be modal messages that stop the player and forces them to complete an interaction before they can move forward. It can be passive messages that appear but do not require the player to interact and it can be changes that alter an aspect of the game without the player being aware of the intervention.

Modal Messages
These are generally pop up dialogs that appear in the game and make the player either choose something or inform the user that something has happened. An example of a pop up is a sales dialog which makes a special offer to a player, such as a 50% discount on gold if the buy now. These dialogs require the player to make a decision at the point the offer is made to the player.

Passive Messages
These are messages that appear but do not require the user to interact, they will generally either appear on a timer or simply disappear when the player moves to a different screen. These are closer to adverts for offers within the game.

Changes
This is where information is sent back to the game which impacts how the game will react to the player without the player being informed of the change. This could be a change of difficulty or game parameter which makes the game more rewarding. It can also be changes in prices in the store so segments of players gets a slightly different price for specific items based on their behaviour.

 

Instrumentation Grid

The best approach is to build out a grid which details out each type of intervention and where they will be implemented.

Example:

In this example we have identified five points in the game where a player can be interacted with. We have seven different types of intervention, each designed to be as flexible as possible.

Decision Point Modal Message Passive Message Change
Welcome Screen Reward
Gold Special Offer
Help tip
Todays Special Tutorial Switch
Mission Select Reward
Gold Special Offer
Help tip
Todays Special
Mission Start Help tip Mission Difficulty
Mission End Reward
Gold Special Offer
Help tip
Store Help tip Todays Special Price Change

 

Reward
The reward dialog would give a simple piece of text and reward the player with X amount of ether grind or premium currency. The text, type and amount of currency will be driven by the targeting system.

Gold Special Offer
This gives the player the ability to buy the premium currency (in this case gold) at some level of discount. The dialog would accept a piece of text and the discount level as a %. It would then display the offer to the player.

Help Tip
This is simply a dialog that shows a piece of help text.

Today’s Special
This is a passive advert that is displayed at the bottom of the screen and details a special offer that is available in the store. It would require a piece of text that details out the offer and would appear for as long as the player is on the screen.

Tutorial Switch
This is a parameter that defines which tutorial the player is offered. It allows some users to be offered the whole tutorial, some to skip to a later tutorial and some players not to receive a tutorial at all.

Mission Difficulty
This changes the difficulty of a specific mission, it accepts a number from -100 to 100 with 0 being the current difficulty.

Price Change
This changes the price of a single item and requires an item id and the new price.